Is this the face of the new Cobra Commander?

New Cobra Commander?

New Cobra Commander?

Uh, oh.  I am not one happy Joe.

In this preliminary image of the forth coming ‘Combat Heroes’ toy line from Hasbro that will tie into the new “G.I.Joe: The Rise of Cobra” movie due later this year, we get one of our first glimpses of the costume change up for Cobra Commander.

If you look closey at the picture above, note the 4th picture from the left, directly between Joe, ‘Heavy Duty’ and Cobra ninja ‘Storm Shadow’.  Yup, that a glimpse of the new mask and hint of color scheme and body armor for Cobra Commander.

I may reserve my judgement until I see the whole image, but I’m seriously having my doubts and my heart sank a little bit.  Now I heard the original stories that the film makers wanted to steer away from the Commanders original hood design, as it was ballied about as being too Ku Klux Klan like.  Personally, I never got that for the sheer fact that his hood was never pointed, was blue in color (not white) and had a red cobra emblem stitched on the front.

Cobra Commander in chrome

Cobra Commander in chrome

And what could be possibly wrong with his combat blue helmet and chrome, featureless faceplate.  That costume was iconic to anyone who grew up with Cobra in the 80’s and really lent to the air of mystery of the man behind the mask.

This new movie stylized incarnation looks like a cross between a hockey mask and *sigh*, dare I say, something that reminds me to Cobra-La?  The nostril slits, questionable holes, along with the segmented look and pastel purple body features has me squirming.

It’s bad enough Scarlett and some of the other Joe’s costumes look nothing like their 80’s versions, but I’ll admit that both Snake Eyes and positive changes with Storm Shadow look great. 

But in the end, Cobra Commander is an iconic character and very important to the Joe’s 80’s mythos and revival from the old 12″ figures of old.  To mess with him now can possibly really retract many’s opinions on him.  I’m curious to what long time scribe, Larry Hama thinks of these changes?

Leave a Reply

